The Official Website Of Grand Canyon University Club Sports

Grand Canyon University Club Sports

Welcome to Club Golf

The GCU club golf team participates in the National Collegiate Club Golf Association (NCCGA). We play in several regional events per semester with the NCCGA, competing against teams like Arizona State, New Mexico and The Golf Academy of America. Practices are not mandatory but you will want to practice daily with access to the GCU Golf Course. The club golf team seeks to have a great time with friends while winning. Our relaxed schedule means you will have time to play competitive golf without missing any classes.

Club Golf Schedule

Fall Regional #2 at Arizona National Golf Club (10/29/2017)

 

2nd Place

3rd Place

5th Place

Team Results

A Team

B Team

Individual

Zach Capel (+2|144)

Joey Russo (+3|145)

Jordan Yamamoto (+5|147)

Showing 2017-2018

Day Date   Opponent/Details Location Time Score
Thursday 08/31/2017 Nine Holes Grand Canyon University Golf Course 4:00 PM
Sunday 09/03/2017 Qualifying Round 1 Grand Canyon University Golf Course 2:00 PM
Wednesday 09/06/2017 Nine Holes Grand Canyon University Golf Course 4:00 PM
Sunday 09/10/2017 Qualifying Round 2 Grand Canyon University Golf Course 2:00 PM
Friday 09/15/2017 Nine Holes Grand Canyon University Golf Course 4:00 PM
Sunday 09/17/2017 Make-up Qualifying Grand Canyon University Golf Course 2:00 PM
Thursday 09/21/2017 Nine Holes Grand Canyon University Golf Course 4:00 PM
Saturday 09/23/2017 Regional #1 (Round 1) Ocotillo Golf Resort NA W
Sunday 09/24/2017 Regional #1 (Round 2) Ocotillo Golf Resort NA W
Wednesday 09/27/2017 Nine Holes Grand Canyon University Golf Course 4:00 PM
Thursday 10/05/2017 Nine Holes Grand Canyon University Golf Course 4:00 PM
Wednesday 10/25/2017 Nine Holes Grand Canyon University Golf Course 3:00 PM
Saturday 10/28/2017 Regional #2 (Round 1) Arizona National Golf Club NA TBA
Sunday 10/29/2017 Regional #2 (Round 2) Arizona National Golf Club NA TBA
Thursday 11/02/2017 Nine Holes Grand Canyon University Golf Course 3:00 PM
Wednesday 11/08/2017 Nine Holes Grand Canyon University Golf Course 3:00 PM
Thursday 11/16/2017 Nine Holes Grand Canyon University Golf Course 3:00 PM
Wednesday 11/29/2017 Nine Holes Grand Canyon University Golf Course 3:00 PM
Saturday 12/02/2017 Nationals Paiute Golf Resort Las Vegas NA TBA
Sunday 12/03/2017 Nationals Paiute Golf Resort Las Vegas NA TBA
Thursday 12/07/2017 Nine Holes Grand Canyon University Golf Course 3:00 PM

Club Golf Regional Team Roster

  • Cole Anderson
  • Mariana Avalos
  • Zach Capel
  • Cassidy Chase
  • Tyler Coleman
  • Erin Dick
  • Josh Dunham
  • Zach Estes
  • Kody Fiser
  • Sebastian Fuenzalida
  • Logan Hardy
  • Luke Johanson
  • Kon Kim
  • Joe Knight
  • Tristan Koyl
  • CJ Luikart
  • Will McMahon
  • Alix Mees
  • Christian Murphy
  • Braden Price
  • Joey Russo
  • Erika Smith
  • Johnny Spinelli
  • Cooper Strang
  • Daniel Sung
  • Ryan Teed
  • JR Tuls
  • Alisen Vrabel
  • Tyler Whittaker
  • Samantha Woodward
  • Jordan Yamamoto
  • Thomas Zeilinger

GCU Club Golf Coaching Staff

John Wasson

Head Coach
Contact Me

John Wasson is in his second season as head golf coach of the GCU club golf team. Coach Wasson looks forward to making an immediate impact and is confident that his teams will compete for club golf national championships through the National Collegiate Club Golf Association (NCCGA).

Coach Wasson has more than 25 years of experience of competing and teaching. He has been a volunteer rules official for the Junior Golf Association of Arizona. His most recent position was as an instructor for one of the world’s largest golf schools, Jacobs Golf.

Originally from Colorado, Coach Wasson was a key player on consecutive Denver city high school championship teams. He graduated from Colorado State University in psychology and became a member of the PGA.

Coach Wasson and his wife, Tabbatha, who is originally from Kansas City, have two daughters, Savannah and Zoe.